Most of this site's functionality requires JavaScript to be enabled.

Invalid email/password
Log In
GIFT CARDS
 
 
 
 


 
ORDERING BOOKS:

Please feel free to order online here.  Just search for your book above and then add it to your cart. Click on the cart to go to checkout. You can leave a note or any direction on the online order and we will respond to it as quickly as possible.

You can also email the store at hunterstreetbooks@gmail.com or call with detailed information about the book (correct title, correct author, correct edition, an ISBN number)and we will order for you.

Or, you can come in and speak to the staff. Make sure you have as much information about your order as possible so we can make sure you get the right book!

ALL ORDERS REQUIRE PRE-PAYMENT



HOURS


 
Monday to Thursday, 10-5pm
Friday, 11-5pm
Saturday, 11-4:30pm
CLOSED SUNDAYS and most holidays unless otherwise posted.

If there is a reason we have to close suddenly please check our facebook page or twitter as we update those frequently.

HOLIDAY HOURS:

Dec. 24, 2019, open 10-3pm
Dec. 25, 2019 -- closed
Dec. 26, 2019 -- closed
Dec. 30, 2019 -- closed
Dec. 31, 2019 -- closed
Jan. 1, 2020 -- closed


 
"In the tradition of "The Poisonwood Bible" and "State of Wonder", a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life events."

NEW RELEASES:
COMING SOON:
BUY A SCHOOL A BOOK
 
BUY A BOOK FROM OUR STORE AND DONATE IT TO ANY SCHOOL YOU PICK IN THE PETERBOROUGH AREA THROUGHOUT THE SCHOOL YEAR. WE WILL DELIVER FOR YOU.
 
Just come in or call or order online. Buy any book -- or order one --and we will take it to the school you suggest. We will also put a little nameplate in the book with your name so that the school knows who their gift has come from.
THE BOOK BOUQUET
 

Do you need an original and personal present for someone? Order a Book Bouquet. Three ($80) or Four ($100) beautifully wrapped and presented books, chosen personally by the staff at Hunter Street Books. We will include a brief note explaining why we picked each book. When you check out in the webstore let us know if you'd like a specific theme (Get Well, Happy Mother's Day, etc.) or a specific genre (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, etc.). Or let us surprise you! Order online or come in and buy a bouquet. Give us a day to get your order ready and then pick up and deliver to that special someone! Or, if you are sending to someone far away, we would be happy to send by Purolator (charges will apply)!




Listen to CBC Ontario Morning (April 25,2018 at 23 minutes in) to hear more about "Book Bouquets" at Hunter Street Books: http://www.cbc.ca/radio/podcasts/ontario/ontario-morning/


 READ INDIGENOUS:
We have a large selection of talented Indigenous writers in store: fiction and non fiction/poetry and graphic novels. 
BOOK SUGGESTIONS FROM LOCAL BOOK CLUBS
What book clubs in Peterborough and beyond are reading:
Bonus: Book Clubs get discounts for multiple orders! See the About Us link at the top of the page
Listen to cbc (at 44:12) to hear some suggestions on book club books from Michelle:

https://www.cbc.ca/listen/shows/ontario-morning-from-cbc-radio/episode/15600797